How To Take Part

Host an Event  >  About Being A Host

On May 10, thousands of people worldwide will host local Friends of Pangea Day events. They'll be held in homes, schools and offices; backyards and a Bedouin camp; movie theaters and public beaches ... anywhere people can gather. It will be the first global campfire, harnessing the power of new technologies to bring people together through film.

More than 1,000 events are being planned so far. A sampling:

You can get started planning your own event using the tools in this section:

The FAQ offers all the basics, and the checklist will help you prepare. And of course, you should register your event, so it appears on our global map and others can find you. After you register, you can download the Host toolkit and exclusive Friends of Pangea Day site badge and logo.

Note: The 4-hour program will be broadcast live to the world on May 10, 2008, at 18:00-22:00 GMT (that's 2:00 - 6:00 pm in New York, 9:00 pm - 1:00 am in Cairo, 3:00 - 7:00 am in Tokyo) over the internet, TV, and mobile phones. Click here to find the time Pangea Day will be broadcast in your area.